CURRICULUM VITAE

JENNIFER ANN THOMSON

Emeritus Professor Department of Molecular and Cell Biology University of Cape Town P B Rondebosch 7701 South Africa

Email: jennifer.thomson@uct.ac.za DoB: 16 June 1947 Nationality: South African

CURRENT APPOINTMENT

Emeritus Professor, Department of Molecular and Cell Biology (2008-present)

EDUCATIONAL CAREER

PhD in Microbiology, Rhodes University, Grahamstown, South Africa (1971-73)
MA in Genetics, Cambridge University, England (1968-70)
BSc (with distinction) in Zoology and General Physiology, University of Cape Town, South Africa (1965-67)
Matriculated, Hyde Park High School, Johannesburg (4 x A; 2 x B) Head Girl (1964)

PREVIOUS APPOINTMENTS

University of Cape Town
Professor, Department of Molecular and Cell Biology (2001-2008)
Professor and Head, Department of Microbiology (1988-2000)
Deputy Dean, Faculty of Science (1996-98)
University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa
Associate Professor (1981-83)
Senior Lecturer (1979-80)
Lecturer (1977-78)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Visiting Scientist (1982-83)
Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, South Africa
Director, Laboratory for Molecular and Cell Biology (1984-1987)
Harvard University, USA
Research and Teaching Fellow (1974-77)

AWARDS AND FELLOWSHIPS

International Prize for the Protection of Human Rights: Accademia dei Lincei of Italy (2019) Fellow of The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) (2018) Technology Innovation Agency to research team for *Drought tolerant maize* R12 million (2018-2022) United Nations Environmental Program, Women in Science (2016 – first award given) Rhodes University Alumnae Award (2010) Honorary Doctorate, Sorbonne University, Paris (2005) L'Oreal/UNESCO award for Women in Science for Africa (2004) Fellow, University of Cape Town (2004) Vice-President, Academy of Science of South Africa (2001-2003) Fellow, Royal Society of South Africa (2001) Women in Science Award, SA Association of Women Graduates (2000) Distinguished Teacher, University of Cape Town (1996) Woman Achiever of the Year, Women's Bureau of South Africa (1990) JAYCEE's FOYSA Award (Four Outstanding Young South Africans; 1984) Rotary International Post-doctoral Fellowship to Harvard (1974-75)

Shell (SA) Research Fellowship (1972-73)

MEMBERSHIP OF SELECTED INTERNATIONAL COMMITTEES AND INTERNATIONAL ENGAGEMENTS

Independent Science and Partnership Council of the Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR): Member 2017-2018

Global Confederation of Higher Education Association for Agricultural and Life Sciences (GCHERA) World Agricultural Prize Jury: Member 2017; Chair 2018

Organization for Women in Science in the Developing World (OWSD): International President 2016-2021

GenderInSITE, Co-Chair 2016-2017

International Consortium on Biotechnology Research (ICABR) Steering Committee 2008-2014

African Agricultural Technology Foundation (AATF) Chair of board; 2003-2008; emeritus member 2009-present

International Service for the Acquisition of Agri-Biotech Applications (ISAAA) 2002-present (Vice-Chair 2013-present)

Canadian International Food Security Research Fund (CIFSRF) of the Canadian International Development Research Centre (IDRC) and Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), Committee of Assessors; 2010-2012

International Centre for Research into Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT) Advisory Panel Member 2007

Speaker, United Nations, New York; November 2002

- East African Regional Programme and Research Network for Biotechnology (BIO-EARN) 2002-2004
- Interacademy Council panel on "Food for Africa: harnessing science and technology to increase agricultural productivity in Africa";2002-2004

Council for Biotechnology Information, USA; Distinguished Advisor 2000 - 2004

WHO/FAO Seminar: Release of genetically modified organisms in the environment – is it a health hazard? Rome September 2000 (Chair)

WHO & FAO: Safety aspect of genetically modified foods of plant origin. (Consultant 2000) World Economic Forum, Davos; Invited Speaker 1998 and 1999

The African Academy of Sciences (AAS): Policy Committee on Research Priorities for the Education of Girls and Women in Africa; 1993-95

MEMBERSHIP OF SELECTED NATIONAL COMMITTEES

National Advisory Council on Innovation (NACI) to the Minister of Science and Technology 2002-2018

Organization for Women in Science in the Developing World (OWSD) National Chapter: Chair 2016-2019

Public Understanding of Biotechnology, Dept of Science and Technology: Advisory Board 2014-2016

Agricultural Biotechnology International Conference (ABIC) Chair Scientific Committee for the 2011 Conference, Johannesburg

National Biotechnology Advisory Committee (NBAC) Chair 2006-2009; member 2009-2012

African Centre for Gene Technologies (ACGT) Advisory council member 2004-2011 AfricaBio; Board member; 2000-2010

Pebble Bed Modular Reactor; Steering Committee Member 2007-2008

Roadmapping Exercise for Plant Biotechnology – where and how to position SA in 5-10 years – for Department of Science and Technology; 2003-2004

UCT Council; 1996-2002

SA Genetic Engineering Committee (SAGENE); 1993-1998, Chair 1990-1992

Grahamstown Foundation: Steering Committee of the National Festival of Science and Technology; 1996-2001

South African Women in Science and Engineering (SAWISE) Co-founder and Chair 1993-2000 Royal Society of South Africa; Council 2000-2004

Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf); Vice-President 1996-98; Council member 2004-2006

South African Biotechnology Strategy drafting committee; Member 2001-2002