

66 Science and Technology Lagging Countries Eligible for OWSD PhD Fellowships

(by Region)

Owing to scientific and economic changes in a number of developing nations, OWSD has intensified the focus of its programme and has selected a group of countries in which science and technology are significantly lagging.

The immediate effect of this selection is that, effective from 2017, OWSD PhD Fellowships are open to candidates from 66 scientifically and technologically lagging countries.

Formerly, OWSD had a list of eligible countries which included all Least Developed Countries (LDCs) and any additional countries in sub-Saharan Africa. With this new selection, some countries in Africa are no longer considered low income and are no longer eligible for fellowships support. Some new countries outside Africa have been added.

<u>Africa</u>

Angola	Dem Rep Congo	Liberia	Sierra Leone
Benin	Equatorial Guinea	Madagascar	Somalia
Burkina Faso	Eritrea	Malawi	South Sudan
Burundi	Ethiopia	Mali	Swaziland
Cameroon	Gambia	Mauritania	Tanzania
Central African Republic	Ghana	Mozambique	Togo
Chad	Guinea	Niger	Uganda
Comoros	Guinea-Bissau	Rwanda	Zambia
Congo	Kenya	Sao Tome and Principe	Zimbabwe
Côte d'Ivoire	Lesotho	Senegal	
Asia & the Pacific			
Afghanistan	Kiribati	Nepal	Timor-Leste
Bangladesh	Lao People's Dem Rep	Solomon Islands	Tuvalu
Bhutan	Mongolia	Sri Lanka	Vanuatu
Cambodia	Myanmar	Tajikistan	
Arab Region			
Djibouti	Palestine (West Bank &	Sudan	Yemen
	Gaza Strip)	Syrian Arab Republic	
Latin America & the Caribbean	<u>l</u>		
Bolivia	Guatemala	Honduras	Paraguay
El Salvador	Haiti	Nicaragua	